Devon Baroque Orchestra

celebrating 20 years of Baroque performance

Devon Baroque

Devon Baroque is the only fully professional orchestra in the South West specialising in Baroque and early Classical music played on period instruments and in appropriate style. Its directors are Persephone Gibbs and Andrew Wilson-Dickson. Click Here

Owing to social distancing restrictions, it has not been possible to hold the scheduled concert on 22nd November.

Devon Baroque, however, is still alive, and we will come back with an exciting programme of concerts as soon as conditions allow.

A number of people came back with a positive response to our streaming a concert on line.

Although it can never be the same as performing to a live audience, this is under consideration for the near future.

Devon Baroque and the new century happened at almost the same moment: : its first concert, under the direction of its founder, Margaret Faultless, being held on 7th January 2000 in the Foxhole Theatre, Dartington. An uncountable number of concerts later we celebrated the band’s twentieth anniversary at a concert at Dartington Hall on 16th February 2020, repeating many of the works in the first programme.

Listen to Devon Baroque

Recordings by Chris Holmquist

Valentini: Concerto Grosso op. 7 no. 11 in A minor, 1st movement (excerpt)

Bach: Concerto in A minor, BWV 1041, 3rd movement (excerpt) - solo violin: Persephone Gibbs

Vivaldi: Concerto for 4 violins in E minor RV 550, 3rd movement (excerpt)